The Sea

The sea is hard and cold and deep,

she is cruel and careless too

but she quiets the things I rue

and when she whispers I can sleep.

‘Tis peace I find here at the shore

the smells of rot and some decay

bind to salt in a pleasing way

and life’s travails pang me no more.

The waves and tide in her abide

and wild surfs wash clean many pasts

sand filing edges smooth at last,

she’s freeing souls for one last ride.

The wheeling soaring gulls do cry

but at the ocean’s side, not I.

4 Comments

  1. September 14, 2015 at 2:05 pm

    Beautiful!

    • witchyluck said,

      September 14, 2015 at 2:10 pm

      thank you. That one won a prize at the fair. šŸ˜‰

      • September 14, 2015 at 2:14 pm

        I can certainly see why. I’m really getting an appreciation for poetry. I’m no expert, but I know what I like. I will pop over after work and look at more of your posts. Have a great day!

      • witchyluck said,

        September 14, 2015 at 2:15 pm

        šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

