Guest Writer Spot

Today’s guest writer is my great-grandfather, from a book of poems he self-published in 1948.

FANCIES

The breezes are blowing I’m going

I’ll drift like the wind in the glen

Where the views are all fair

I’ll linger long there

Far lost to the highways of men.

I’ll count the gray clouds in the morning

When a rainbow is limned on the sky,

I’ll read in its colors a warning

But I’ll ride on, wet or dry.

I’ll sleep where the moonbeams are streaming

Where the lone wolf tugs deep at his kill,

I’ll laugh at the lean panther screaming

For I want to run wild and I will.

                                    by

                                                                                Jay Bleakney

2 Comments

  1. ittymac said,

    February 12, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    I just love this. I really, really do. 💜

    • witchyluck said,

      February 13, 2014 at 1:52 am

      I have loved that one since I was a kid. He had dementia by the time I can remember and died when I was still very young. I will always love him for this, however.


Leave a Reply

