Grandma Has a Blog!

Yes, Grandma has a blog. And a cell phone, a computer, a facebook account and is probably aware of how you could get on twitter if you wanted to. Grandma has a life. My Grandma had a garden, some potted plants, a bunch of cats that she spent inordinate amounts of time watching. She crocheted and of course there was Grandpa to see after. Maybe that was a life and I just never noticed. My grandkids notice and are amazed. They can’t imagine someone so old wanting a life of their own. My 12-year-old granddaughter just recently saw my blog for the first time. She was astounded. “You WROTE this?” she asked, “By yourself?” I assured her that yes, indeed I did. And took all the pictures too. Then she saw one of herself. “Why did you use this?” she demanded, “My hair is a mess!” The questions began in earnest, “Do people read this?” At least 75, I told her. “How long have you had this?” Oh, 6 months or so, I reckoned. “So 75 people will see this?” I showed her the ‘stats’ page that keeps track of views and visitors and such. There was a pause. Thinking happened. “So, I’m kinda famous? 900 people have seen my picture?(no, probably not, I interject) Can I write a paragraph on here?” I told her if she submitted a story to me I would include it. I’m not sure how I became an editor. I’m also not sure it’s a promotion.
I do wonder how this tech savvy generation of grandparents will affect the changing world. This blog thing seems to have knocked a good many years off that child’s perception of my age. She also wants to know how old she has to be to start her own blog and will I help her. I’d better. I’m going to end up working for her.

6 Comments

  1. July 9, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I love this!!

    • witchyluck said,

      July 9, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      thanks. A fairly accurate rendering of the exchange that took place in the library yesterday.

  2. July 9, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    you go girl 🙂

  3. Wendy Hoag said,

    July 15, 2013 at 5:42 am

    You were meant to be famous.

    • witchyluck said,

      July 18, 2013 at 4:27 pm

      You just made me laugh out loud in a restaurant, causing people to stare at me, and at my currently empty-except-for-me table!


Leave a Reply

