White Pants

How many people do you know who say, “I cannot wear white pants”? My friend said this to me the other day. We were shopping in a thrift store, just messing around, hanging out, not seriously looking for anything, when we saw this pair of new looking, brand name white capris. In her size! I said, “You should get those.” She said, “But they’re white! I can’t wear white!” “Why ever not?” I enquired.  Seems she felt that they would “get dirty”. I looked at her. She was wearing a pair of very pale blue cotton capris, paler even than the shade called ‘baby’ blue. Just before we came in the store she had been picking at a tiny spot on them and complaining about spilling things, but it didn’t seem to bother her a lot. Obviously she still felt that she could wear pale blue. Why not white? “I have white pants.” I ventured. “Yes, but you are not a dirt magnet like I am.” she returned. I shut up then, but I began to think.
It starts, I believe, when we are small and for whatever reason, have been dressed in white by some grown person who then spends the rest of the day telling us not to get dirty. Inevitably, despite all precautions, we DO get dirty. Recriminations (big or small) result. We feel guilty. This scenerio is repeated off and on throughout our childhood. By the time we are grown, this repeated lesson has sunk in. We will get dirty if we wear white. And people will see that. Add that to the hyper-critical eye that enabled my friend to see a pin sized spot on her blue pants. A spot that I could not see from my vantage point on the other side of a not very big car. Not even after she pointed to it. (although to be fair, I need new glasses–see previous posts). So, we look at other women with a normal eye and do not see the spots on thier white, and wonder why we are such dirt magnets. I wear white. It gets dirty. I wash it, and wear it again. But it wasn’t always like that.
My daughters also believe that they cannot wear white. So, I must not have figured it out in time to teach them. G-baby used to be able to wear white. A few years ago, when she was 9 she begged for an all white outfit until I got it for her. This year I am going to find another one and take it with me when I go to see them. I want to make sure she still knows that she can wear white.

2 Comments

  1. May 18, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    My mom did the opposite. She let me wear all the white clothes I wanted then taught me how to get the stains out. Of course, I also manage to get dirt and stains on everything I own (I’m talking falling in puddles or sliding in grass type stains) so that might have been why. Imho stains mean that you live your life because if you’re so busy trying to avoid stains on your clothes, you’re avoiding the fun of a good mess.

    Good luck on your White Clothes Revolution. Actually, if that’s not a thing, we should start it.

    • witchyluck said,

      May 18, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      I love it! The White Clothes Revolution! We need a banner….I’m off to design one. 😉
      and I agree, if one stays too clean, they miss out on stuff.


Leave a Reply

