At Wal-Mart

I saw my son today, looking so brave and forlorn on a bench in front of the Wal-Mart pharmacy. He’s 18 you know. Tall, thin, blond. Brave, funny and scared. He sat on the bench beside his father’s girlfriend and talked to me about how long it had been since he shaved last and the girl he met on his way into the store that he has a date with later. He told me what they had said at the doctors’ office.

You see, his Dad was supposed to take him to the Dr. today, for a check up on his recent bout of viral pericarditis. He was to go with me yesterday, but then his Dad called and said that they had to go in there today and he would take my son. I had reservations, but the boy really wanted to spend time with the father who so rarely sees him. So I called the office and they said it would be OK.  Unfortunately his Dad decided at the last minute to stay home and watch his girlfriend’s father deer hunt. He can see the deer stand from the back porch. Next to the beer cooler.

The Dr. said the pain in my son’s heart is resolving and that he is doing well. Really. I wonder. I want to continue to protect him from life’s agonies. It was easy when he was small. There were so many inventible reasons to cover broken promises. Now he is man high, shaving and chasing girls. And I have no answers for the ache behind his eyes as he sits on the Wal-Mart pharmacy bench next to a woman he’s only met twice.

My son talked to me today. He told me nothing that was in his heart, and broke mine.

6 Comments

  1. leafstrewngirl said,

    May 7, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Witchy every time you write I like it more. This is good. VERY good. Hugs on this as well.

    • witchyluck said,

      May 7, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      Thank you. I think you are my biggest fan. I know you are the head of the encouragment committee. I cannot thank you enough. hugs right back!

  2. Sabrina Glidden said,

    May 8, 2013 at 2:08 am

    Hi! I’ve been enjoying your blog and just nominated you for the Bouquet of Three Award @ http://sabrinaglidden.wordpress.com/ !!!

  3. melanie said,

    May 12, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    You made me cry again. On Mothers Day. “The pain in my son’s heart is resolving….”

    • witchyluck said,

      May 15, 2013 at 2:27 am

      well….I don’t know whether to apologise, or what. I’m not really sorry you were moved (after all, that was the point of sharing that peice.) I am sorry you are crying though….


Leave a Reply

