Those ‘Other Drivers’

Other people’s driving makes me crazy. Not other people driving while I ride, but other people driving on the road at the same time I am. Especially those that are driving in front of me. Today I followed the “Queen of the Brake Lights” home from the store. I’m willing to bet that some poor soul has to replace those lightbulbs about once a week. Yesterday I drove 30 miles behind some fella that had no particular place to go, and all day to get there. I’m sure he started out going somewhere and then whoever the recipient of this visit was to be wasn’t home or something. Now he feels that it’s too soon to go back where he came from, but he can’t think of anyplace else to go. I would’ve passed him, but we were on a back road that traffic from another, closed, back road, had been diverted down. Opportunities to pass were pretty slim. You’d think the 37 cars in a line behind him would’ve bothered him, but it didn’t seem to.
I’m staying home tomorrow. Right after the first of the month, in my town, there is a vast upsurge in the number of people driving around who “Did Not Have a Destination in Mind When They Left the House”. I don’t know how that happens, but they are pretty easy to spot. They stop suddenly in the middle of the road a lot, to peer around them as if they’ve never seen buildings before, and are subject to drive halfway past someplace before slamming on the brakes and making a u-turn into its driveway. Usually the place in question is Burger Heaven or something similar. I guess I lack compassion, having never having had a ‘hamburger emergency’ myself. Then there are your general, run of the mill idiots, who seem to be labouring under the delusion that driving the car at speeds in excess of 12 miles per hour will somehow harm the motor. Or the ones that are scared to death that they are going to get a scratch on the paint. They park diagonally across 3 parking spaces in parking lots, and spend quite a bit of time and energy making sure that there is at least 40 feet between themselves and any other vehicle on the road.
Of course, none of this applies to me. When I am driving very slowly with my foot on the brake, possibly weaving just a bit, I am trying to identify the variety of that lovely plant growing in that yard over there. That qualifies as research and it is important. 😉

Leave a Reply

