Angst

The dictionary

says ‘angst’ is “gloomy”

and, “a feeling of general anxiety and depression”.

Most of the poetry I like

is driven and fueled by angst

fraught with pain

and deep introspection.

I have no angst.

I am a mostly happy person

content

or at least resigned

to my small lot.

My aspirations

are better flowers

and to maybe paint the bedroom.

My dreams

tend to be about weather stripping.

My drive

takes me to the lumber yard

for concrete blocks to build a flower bed.

I am angst-less.

Unless it is possible to have angst about angst?

Thus I flounder

sinking

in a confusion

of ordinary-ness.

3 Comments

  1. leafstrewngirl said,

    April 6, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    Nice!

  2. leafstrewngirl said,

    April 7, 2013 at 2:03 am

    And PS, the gravatar is adorable. 🙂 Your blog is coming along really well.


Leave a Reply

